Missouri Building Codes and Contacts

The following information is reprinted with permission from the Building Codes Assistance Project:
Missouri climate zones
Current Commercial Code

Missouri has no mandatory or voluntary statewide energy code for private commercial construction.

All new state construction, buildings being constructed for lease by the state, and significant renovations and replacement of energy-using equipment shall be at least as stringent as the most recent energy efficiency standards of the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC). Exemptions shall be limited to those listed in the IECC and exemptions approved by the Director of Facilities Management, Design and Construction.

Current Residential Code

Missouri has no mandatory or voluntary statewide energy code for private residential construction.

Read more about:

Climate Zones: 4A, 5A

Code Adoption and Change Process

Code Change Process

Legislative: In Missouri, only the General Assembly is authorized to enact legislation to establish statewide building construction regulations and/or authorize a state agency to do so. However, there currently is no state regulatory agency authorized to promulgate, adopt, or update construction codes on a statewide basis.

Missouri has considered adopting a state code previously. For example, SB 745, drafted by BCAP in 2010, would have adopted the 2009 IECC and ASHRAE Standard 90.1-2007 statewide. It also would have directed DNR to establish an automatic review cycle, either every three years or within nine months of the publication of a new model code version. In addition, HB 938 in 2011 would have implemented the energy provisions of the 2006 IRC. Both bills, however, failed to move past the committee stage.

Code Change Cycle

All local jurisdictions except class III counties have the right to adopt an energy code.

Missouri communities tend to adopt codes on a six-year cycle rather than following the three-year ICC development cycle. It is also typical for communities to follow the code adoption of surrounding communities. These adoption practices have developed two trends in Missouri; eastern Missouri communities are generally on the 2003 I-Codes and are moving/have moved to the 2009 I-Codes and western Missouri communities are generally on the 2006 I-Codes and are moving to the 2012 I-Codes.

Next Code Update

St. Louis County is considering adoption of the 2015 IECC.

See which counties have adopted an energy code:
County Building Codes for Missouri

Missouri Code Contacts

Barbara J. Meyer
Energy Engineer
Missouri Department of Economic Development
Division of Energy

Email: barbara.meyer@ded.mo.gov

Isaac Elnecave
Senior Policy Manager
Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance (MEEA)
Email: ielnecave@mwalliance.org

This information was compiled by the Building Codes Assistance Project, and used with their permission.