Kansas Building Codes and Contacts

The following information is reprinted with permission from the Building Codes Assistance Project:Kansas climate zones
Current Commercial Code

2006 IECC, voluntary only
effective 4/10/2007

Current Residential Code

No statewide code; a significant number of jurisdictions have adopted an energy code for residential construction.

Jurisdictional code adoptions as of 2013 (source):

  • 2012 IECC: Lawrence County, Johnson County, De Soto County, Leawood, Mission, Olathe, Overland Park, Shawnee
  • 2009 IECC: Manhattan, Topeka, Wyandotte County, Kansas City
  • 2006 IECC: Lenexa
  • 2000 IECC: Fairway City, Wamego

The city of Lawrence has adopted the 2012 IECC with amendments and is considering adoption of the 2015 IECC.

Read more about:

Climate Zones: 4A, 5A

Code Adoption and Change Process

Code Change Process

The Energy Division at the Kansas Corporation Commission monitors codes adoption across Kansas and conducts an annual survey of selected cities and counties.

Code Change Cycle

Updates to adopted codes are handled by local jurisdictions.

Next Code Update


Kansas Code Contacts

Preston Miller
Energy Consultant
Energy Division
Kansas Cooperation Commission

Email: p.miller@kcc.ks.gov

Isaac Elnecave
Senior Policy Manager
Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance (MEEA)
Email: ielnecave@mwalliance.org

This information was compiled by the Building Codes Assistance Project, and used with their permission.