California Building Codes and Contacts

The following information is reprinted with permission from the Building Codes Assistance Project:California climate zones
Current Commercial Code

2013 Building Energy Efficiency Standards (Title 24)
Meets or exceeds the stringency of ASHRAE 90.1-2010
Passed 5/1/2012, effective 7/1/2014

2013 California Green Building Standards Code (CALGreen) (Title 24, Part 11) is the nation’s first mandatory statewide green building standard. The California Air Resources Board has estimated that CALgreen will curb greenhouse gas emissions (GHG) by 3 million metric tons in 2020, helping the state reach its goal of 33% GHG reduction this decade.

Current Residential Code

2013 Building Energy Efficiency Standards (Title 24)
Meets or exceeds the stringency of the 2012 IECC
Passed 5/1/2012, effective 7/1/2014

Summary of Major Changes from the 2008 Standards

Locally Adopted Standards exceeding Title 24

Read more about:

Climate Zones: 2B, 3B, 3C, 4B, 4C, 5B, 6B

Code Adoption and Change Process

Code Change Process

The California Energy Commission (CEC) is authorized to establish building energy efficiency requirements, both the California Energy Code and CALGreen. CEC is responsible for overseeing the public process and rulemaking proceeding.

Code Change Cycle

California’s Building Energy Efficiency Standards are updated on an approximately three-year cycle.

Next Code Update

The 2016 Building Energy Efficiency Standards will go into effect on January 1, 2017.

Read the press release on the new standards here.

California Code Contacts

Eurlyne Geiszler
Office Manager
Building Standards Office
California Energy Commission

Marcia Smith
Office Manager
Standards Implementation Office
California Energy Commission

This information was compiled by the Building Codes Assistance Project, and used with their permission.