Arizona Building Codes and Contacts

The following information is reprinted with permission from the Building Codes Assistance Project:
Arizona climate zones
Current Commercial Code

No statewide code. The majority of localities have adopted, at minimum, the 2009 IECC.

Many populated areas of Arizona have adopted some version of the IECC. In August 2013, in order to certify compliance with Title III of the Energy Conservation and Production Act (ECPA), the Governor’s Office of Energy Policy estimated that the communities collectively containing almost two-thirds of Arizona’s 2010 population (65.4%) had adopted either the 2009 or the 2012 IECC, and another 14.7% had adopted the 2006 IECC. Read the state certification here.

Current Residential Code

No statewide code. ACEEE estimates that over 90% of Arizona’s population is covered by either the 2009 or 2006 IECC.

Maricopa County – by far the largest county, containing cities such as Phoenix, Mesa, Scottsdale – has adopted the 2012 IECC with amendments for both residential and commercial construction, but compliance with this code is optional unless specifically required through ordinance by the county. Phoenix adopted the 2012 IECC in 2013.

Pima County – the second most populous after Maricopa, containing Tuscon – has also adopted the 2012 IECC.

Read more about:

Climate Zones: 2B, 3B, 4B, 5B

Code Adoption and Change Process

Code Change Process

Arizona codes are adopted and enforced on a local level. At present, statewide adoption of an energy code, residential and/or commercial, must be mandated by the legislature.

Code Change Cycle

No set schedule

Next Code Update


Arizona Code Contacts

Lisa Henderson
Community Energy Program Manager
Arizona Department of Administration
Office of Grants and Federal Resources

Jim Meyers
Director, Buildings Efficiency Program
Southwest Energy Efficiency Project

Christine Brinker
Senior Associate, Buildings Efficiency Program
Southwest Energy Efficiency Project